How to enter Nepal


By Air: Tribhuvan international airport is the only international airport in Nepal. Nepal airlines is the national flag carrier aircraft of Nepal and other international airlines operate flights to Kathmandu from Bangkok, Colombo, Calcutta, Delhi, Dhaka, Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Frankfurt, Hong Kong, Karachi, Lhasa, London, Osaka, Paris, Moscow, Paro, Singapore and Varanasi etc. The international Airlines operating their flights in to Kathmandu includes: Aeroflot, Biman, Bangladesh Airlines, China South-West Airlines, Druk Air, Indian Airlines, Pakistan International Airlines, Singapore Airlines and Thi Air etc.

By Land: Kathmandu is connected with India through the fertile plains of the Tarai by the most picturesque highways. Visitors are permitted to drive their own cars but their vehicles must possess international carnet. There are regular bus services to Kathmandu from all the borders points. Bus services are available easily from India to Nepal. The bus from Lhasa is only available during the less snowing period. The entry point at Nepal – India borders are: Kakarbhitta, Birgunj, Bhairahawa, Nepalgunj, Dhangadi and Mahendra Nagar. The only entry point at Nepal – China is Kodari from Lhasa.

Entry and Exit points in Nepal:
The following entry and exit points are prescribed for the purpose of the foreigners entering into and departing from the Nepal. Deviation from these points at the time of entry or exit shall be treated as the violation of immigration rules.

1. Tribhuvan international airport, Kathmandu.
2. Kakarvitta, Jhapa (Eastern Nepal).
3. Birgunj, Parsha (Central Nepal).
4. Kodari, Sindhupalchowk (Northern Border).
5. Belahia, Bhairahawa, Rupandehi (Western Nepal).
6. Jamunaha, Nepalgunj, Banke (Mid Western Nepal).
7. Mohana, Dhangadhi, Kailali (Far Western Nepal).
8. Gadda Chauki, Mahendranagar, Kanchanpur (Far Western Nepal).